18 August 2008

Musings

I'm still trying to find a home for my (now irregular) musings online. Diaryland is familiar, but other sites feel more svelte. And, truth be told, I don't have much time to write these days, or drive. Inertia takes hold, and silence ensues. The funny thing is that I've been doing this for over seven years, a good chunk of my 20's, and I am not willing to give it up... the writing... the pondering... the online friendships. So I'm going to try and write about a theme, for a change, instead of my daily ponderings. About bilinguality, and the challenges and joys of raising a child bi -- nay, trilingually. And I'll see if I can find a new home for said theme-writing... even if it takes a while.

In other updates, I'm still gainfully unemployed, enjoying being home with my 22-month old daughter. The challenges of being a stay-at-home mom, after being an academic with an ego to match, can be hard to face. I think the bigger challenge is figuring out what I want to do with myself, how to turn skills into a job that I love. Most of all, I want to get meaning out of what I do. We'll see. I did a doula training course, which I loved, and am now in the process of seeing if I can volunteer at the local hospital.

More later, theme based....

dandlioneyes at 1:53 pm

previous | next