22 September 2005

new friends and vicious cycles

we're in to our routines here now: up at 6 am, i stay in bed until 6:30 while my sweetie showers, then we have breakfast together and he leaves at 7. lazy ass that i am, i get back into bed for an hour and read or doze -- which, inevitably, makes me very groggy. then i putter, drink my by this time cold coffee, and shower by 9. then i get going. sort of a stupid routine, and it makes me unable to go to bed at 10 pm when i should, so i'm up until 11, 11:30, and the vicious cycle starts again.


and the vicious cycle of the evenings is house work, house work, house work. makes me want to be a renter again... well, not really. but i didn't realize the responsibility of homeownership. or i did, actually, but was probably kidding myself with an illusion of "oh it won't be that bad"....


the vicious cycle i need to get out of is not having friends here. not sure how to meet them in my basement, either, to be quite honest. yes, i get out -- to the public library, to the store, to the wonderful bookstore on 65th called Third Place -- but i'm no longer capable to chat with people randomly like i used to. shriveled social skills, maybe, or just a more cautious approach to life. college: no problem, talk to anyone. i was fearless! now: nead to work on my dissertation, stay away from me, i need quiet! and don't disturb my latte enjoyment moment i am currently having.


ah yes, i'm predictable.


and i'm not about to want to meet people at the gym. that's sketchy. plus, most of them are corporate type folks, since the various Big Companies out here in seattle-land have membership agreements with this gym. and we can meet corporate type folks through my sweetie's work.


so there. any suggestions of how to meet people??? i need new friends in seattle!

dandlioneyes at 9:27 am

previous | next