20 September 2006

no progress but I'm oh so ready

My 37 week appointment has come and gone, with not too much progress from last week. And to top it all off, I'm Group B Strep positive (estimates indicate that between 25% and 40% of women are)... meaning I get to enjoy the pleasures of an IV every four hours during labor to pump me full of antibiotics. The Strep B can transfer to the baby and get her very sick, so they wipe it out during labor. So it clearly is good to know, but an IV? Ugh. Never had one, don't really look forward to it, but c'est la vie. So yesterday's appointment did have me down, because I was hoping for progress in leaps and bounds (you are now X centimeters dilated and -- wait -- wait -- we'll check you in to the hospital now, your baby is on the way)... but all in good time. I'm still drinking my red raspberry leaf tea and taking evening primrose oil, and hopefully she'll get here early (if she is ready). We certainly are!


Rainy days are here again, which I don't mind so much, but the grey skies are an adjustment once again. Stay AWAY, SAD (seasonal affective disorder)... I'm assuming that SAD coupled with PPD (post partum depression, if I'm so lucky) would not be such a blast... will have to stay active and busy!

dandlioneyes at 2:55 pm

previous | next