12 December 2006

Frazzled Momma

Yesterday I thought there was cause to celebrate, since little Miss E., 10 weeks of age yesterday, decided she could sleep in her carseat without me holding her. Three 1.5 hour naps. I was seriously having a "Eureka!" sort of day yesterday, able to shower and to work and to have a few minutes of time to myself. So, I thought, of course today will be the same... nay nay! Cruel twist of fate had it that Miss E. quite on the contrary couldn't for the life of her fall asleep -- whether in my arms or in the carseat. This little girl was awake for over 5 hours, and a serious mess of flailing limbs, scrunched up face... exhausted little baby. I finally put her in my baby carrier, and, since it was raining, walked around my house for 20 minutes as if I were taking a brisk walk outside. She's now been sleeping for 10 minutes. I am still wearing her, swaying from side to side like a charmed King Cobra, hoping that she'll sleep at least an hour. We have our parenting support group tonight, which I love, though I always get the sense that "whoever has the quietest baby out in public" gets the gold star for the evening, and otherwise one gets the "poor parent" look... I just want Miss E. to be able to sleep and feel good and enjoy those other babies.... If I were writing to Ann L*nders or so, I'd sign: Frazzled Momma

dandlioneyes at 4:48 pm

previous | next