23 December 2006

in the holiday mood

Twas the night before the night before Christmas, and all through the house, we were all wide awake - but thank goodness no mouse.

Miss E's stocking was hung (next to the not by) the chimney with care...

I'm surprisingly giddy about Christmas this year. Somehow seeing all the presents under the tree, including those for our little gal, makes the whole thing exciting. It is also the first time I'm not "home" with my parents for Christmas, and on the one hand that hurts, quite a bit, buton the other hand is seems fitting to start out Ella's new life with a holiday at home. The tree is pretty, we have ornmanents up, good food in the house (the lines were insane at the grocery store), and I feel festive. I ordered German holiday cookies and stuff (Zimtsterne, Stollen, Spekulatius), hung chocolate pine cones on the tree... and am just all together looking forward to a nice few days at home, with my sweetie here too (not at work)... yay!

She's just neat, though, our gal. She is doing great on her tummy with her head held high, looking around, and wiggling side to side... I think the rolling may be starting soon. I can't wait to be able to hug her tightly and get a hug back, or see her in her crib lifting up her arms wanting to be held. We seem to communicate more and more each day, cooing back and forth. We make the weirdest sounds, my hubby and I, and she seems to love it.

Time for some hot chocolate and a nice CD. Reading children's books right now (Gene Stratton Porter's _Freckles_), and am a happy camper.

Happy holidays, merry Christmas!

dandlioneyes at 4:15 pm

previous | next