09 November 2003

trains, visits, bars, smoke

work now needs to happen.

now work needs to happen.

happen now work needs to.

to work needs happen now.

to happen needs work now.

needs to work happen now.

now to happen work needs.

needs work to now happen.

and many more permutations of that. no desire to spell them all out.

back from hamburg, hansestadt, volksdorf, a treelined street familiar to me.

a lot of questions were asked. pictures were shown.

what did i do?

i saw onkel kurt and hannelore in the old folks home in niendorf nord. and it broke my heart, though they both recognized me. hannelore couldn't respond. onkel kurt ate chocolate. i held their hands. with hannelore, i knew she could understand but did she want me to hold her hand? i don't know. a lot of sadness there, but somehow that is life, and somehow there is joy in knowing one can care about people so much.

then, the night before, a smoke filled bar evening at mandalay red carpeted walls with distant cousins. which was nice.

the friday evening a dinner at lilienthal, where i drank wine and had desert and enjoyed sort of rochen which i didn't know until i was eating it that it was sting ray. interesting. i feel bad. it was that or deer (venison). so sting ray it was. bizarre.

then cemetary time to see the grave of my grandparents. peaceful and lovely and i brought a wreath of winterberries. not a sad occasion for me, but happy. i cried and cried at both funerals.

then a visit to the cantankerous and difficult aunt, who complimented me on my german. i shouted because she is hard hard hard of hearing. and we had pastry, and that was also sad but not bad. not the pastry, the visit.

and then a night of long museum hours until 24 o'clock walking around and around and feeling attractive somehow for being out at 24 o'clock at museums in my red coat and hair clipped back and urban sophisticate moi. it felt good. i missed holding the hand of my sweetie. that would have made it perfect.

and today, brunch with my cousin at 3 places. #1 for coffee. #2 for portuguese pastries, and #3 for orange juice. made me happy. and then i was brought to the quintessential train station of steel and trains and wonderful industrial revolution technology... i have a thing for trains and train stations and subways and movement and the roar of engines. and it isn't freudian. it is just super cool train stuff. they make me happy.

and now i am home.

later gaters.

dandlioneyes at 7:23 pm

previous | next