19 June 2006

back home

Back at +9hours GMT, and jetlagged beyond belief. The trip home was long, long, long, 22 hours from door to door. We had a 5 hour layover in Chicago, which was spent in a rather catatonic state... but the trip was otherwise uneventful. We watched Napoleon Dynamite on DVD on the laptop, and I nearly cried I thought it was so funny. And thus ended the trip to Eire...


It was honestly a beautiful trip, and I'd go back, though I'd probably prefer to spend more time in the countryside the next time. I liked Dublin a lot -- its energy, the number of people out and about, and the fact that I could sing songs about various monuments (Molly Malone), natural features (the River Liffey -- "Foggy Dew"), and about events in Dublin's history ("Black and Tans"), etc. -- but the two days we had in Co. Wexford in the South East really made my trip. It was calm and relaxing, at a nice Georgian B+B in a small town called Arthurstown, and looking at 13th Century Cistercian Abbeys or Europe's oldest working lighthouse at Hook Head Peninsula (dating from 1172)...


It is nevertheless good to be back home. We ate delicious meals in Dublin's very pricey restaurants, but it is nice to be back home, with a fridge handy... plus, the little babe got heavy to carry around. I can't believe I'm 24 weeks along (and up 20 lbs already, jeesh!) -- all those fish and chips really packed on the calories, I think, but who can turn down fresh sole and buttery potatoes....

dandlioneyes at 5:40 pm

previous | next