02 November 2004

Please Vote

PLEASE VOTE TODAY


Thanks for coming to my site via my rock the vote banner ad. I don't think D-land should be a place where we enforce our views on each other, but I think sharing them respectfully, infront of an audience is important. I've also called voters in Florida and Pennsylvania, and this is my one last effort to reach people and ask them to vote today in the presidential election. I'm using my banner ads not so that people read my diary, but so that I can make a case for why voting is important.

If you've clicked to my site, you'll find that I usually don't talk politics. And I'm not going to today, either.


I'm not going to tell you who to vote for - that is your choice. And it is an important choice, that you should make as an informed voter. Thank goodness we are allowed to chose. But I want to tell you why you need to vote.

1. If you don't vote, you are letting other people speak for you, think for you, decide for you. It is your right (and your duty) as a citizen to express your opinion and have it be heard. It is the way we, as citizens, can shape the nation.

2. If you think a race is already decided and think your vote doesn't matter, think again. Especially in swing states, but also elsewhere, the election is extremely close. In the 2000 election, there was a voter difference of 366 votes in New Mexico. 366. Think about that. That's a high-school class. That's probably how many people are in the mall food-court next to you.

3. Voting is a right. It was fought for by many minority groups over years, with much struggle. Women in Switzerland didn't have the right to vote until 1971. Not voting is throwing that right away. You have a responsibility to vote, and to make an informed choice.




If you feel as if your right to vote has been unirghtfully challenged, or you have any other legal issues related to the election and your rights, you can call 1-866-OUR-VOTE (1-866-687-8683), the election protection hotline .

Don't forget to bring your ID. If your address on the ID is different than your home address, bring a local utility bill that matches your residential address (the address you registered under).

Thanks for your attention, and please tell all your friends to go out and vote. Most polling places will still let you vote if you are in line by the time the polls close. It is worth the wait. Grab a friend, a book, some nibblies and get in line!

Vote! Thank you. And leave me a note if you stop by because of the banner! ;)

dandlioneyes at 10:21 am

previous | next