06 August 2004

berlin

i'm heading to berlin in a few hours. last time for me in berlin for quite a while. that feels weird, let me tell you. really, really weird. it is a town i love. it is a town that i could live in, did live in, feel as if i can negotiate my way through the day, jetesetting through the u-bahn, knowing where to get on and where to get out of the train, which train to sit in to get close to the exit. it is that knowledge, the comfort with a certain habitus, that makes me like a place, that makes me feel comfortable there. i have that here, but only as a pedestrian. i love places with a well-functioning infrastructure. it fascinates me.


i am excited about the weekend, sad about the upcoming goodbyes, but glad to have the opportunity. safe trip also to saucy99, who is heading to the opening games in athens.....

dandlioneyes at 11:56 am

previous | next